Niger: 5 Countries Shun ECOWAS Defence Chiefs Meeting

The Defence Chiefs from Guinea, Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger, and Guinea are conspicuously missing at Economic Community of West African States, ECOWAS, meeting currently ongoing in Abuja.

The meeting is presided over by the Nigerian Chief of Defence Staff, General Christopher Musa.

In attendance are Defence Chiefs from Liberia, Senegal, The Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, Benin, Togo, Sierra Leone, Cote D’Ivoire, and Cape Verde.

This is coming after ECOWAS, had issued a seven-day ultimatum to the Niger Republic junta who last week removed President Mohamed Bazoum.